If you are in the market for a marijuana product, it may be time to check out the Tennessee marijuana laws and local dispensaries. As of the writing of this article, Tennessee has no medical cannabis law, but lawmakers in the state are making progress. In May of 2021, a bill became law that legalized cannabidiol oil for medical purposes. It is important to note that the THC limit in Tennessee is 0.9%, which is three times higher than the legal hemp THC level. In addition, the THC level is lower than the federal law limit of 0.3%, which means that it is marijuana.
In Tennessee, a person who has been arrested for possessing even a small amount of marijuana could face jail time, supervised probation, and hefty fines. In addition to prison time, marijuana possession could even result in confiscation of a person’s car, making the situation even worse. Regardless of the legality of marijuana, there are still several dos and don’ts when it comes to its use.
The proposed legislation would have the Medical Cannabis Commission continue to serve as an advisory board, but they would be able to propose legislation more freely. The bill would also allow for cannabis products with less than 0.9% THC. Moreover, if approved, the bill would allow individuals with qualifying medical conditions to apply for a patient identification card. Qualifying conditions include Alzheimer’s disease, epilepsy, HIV, and sickle cell disease.
Tennessee Marijuana Laws and Local Dispensaries
Under the new medical marijuana laws, Tennessee citizens can legally possess and use cannabis oil. This is legal in the state for those suffering from epilepsy, with a letter from a physician attesting to the patient’s medical condition. This letter must specify the specific medical condition and must say that no other treatment has helped. The letter must be valid for a minimum of six months. Likewise, patients who wish to purchase CBD oil must have an order from a medical professional. Tennessee law does not allow for in-state production or sale of cannabis products.
Currently, possession and sale of less than half an ounce of cannabis is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to six years in prison and a $2,500 fine. A second conviction will incur a mandatory minimum fine of $3000. However, this penalty is less severe than previous convictions. However, there are still a few things that you should be aware of in order to make sure you stay safe and legal.
While legalizing cannabis in Tennessee is a huge step forward, the new laws still require careful attention. Despite the fact that marijuana is legal, it does not mean that it will be a free-for-all, meaning that there will be regulations, licensers, and special police forces to keep it in check. As a result, the legalization of marijuana will allow for an expanded market and legal dispensaries.